18
Aug
13

Mourn


I mourn for the child that I used to be.
The one without cares and the one without worries.
I mourn for his happiness that I no longer feel and for his dreams that never became a reality.
I mourn for the person he didn’t become and for the person he wanted to be so badly.
I mourn for the heartache he suffered that caused him to let go of hopes and wants.
I mourn for the sorrow that caused him to embrace reality and the cruelties that it brings.
I mourn for his innocence and his ignorance because they were what kept him safe from the shackles of this hell.
I mourn for him because he’s lost.
Lost in a place where he will never be found.
He’s alone, he’s tired, he’s beaten, and he’s frightened.
I mourn for me and who’ve I become and the child who cries for me.


7 Responses to “Mourn”


  1. 1 lalalucyfi
    August 18, 2013 at 9:13 pm

    Are your poems based on your true feelings? If so I want to reach out and hug you! Everything in life happens for a reason, and dwelling too much on the past takes away from the beautiful things you have today.

    • October 7, 2013 at 4:47 pm

      I think all writers should tap into themselves when creating something that they want the reader to connect with. I think slightly different. I use my last to inspire my writing and my future. My past made me who I am and it made me the writer I am. But sincerely thank you for the offer for a hug.

  2. 3 Keith Wadley
    October 23, 2013 at 9:07 am

    “Blessed are those who mourn for they shall be comforted” – Jesus in the Sermon on the Mount

    Mourning is a natural part of life and it helps tremendously to mourn. Nice poem. I took a Modern Poetry class through UMUC a long time ago and hated it. It was a 6 credit hr class with a bunch of people that were reading way too much into stuff. The best poems come straight from the heart. Nice work.

    But like the reader above, don’t stay mourning forever. Receive some comfort, grab your boot straps, and push forward with a passion that has you bursting forth from your mourning into the warmth of a new season in life where you are purpose-filled.

    Thanks for liking my blog post.

    Keith (a.k.a. Daddy Moose)

  3. October 23, 2013 at 9:15 am

    I can relate. After reading your poem I think you are part child and part talented grown up poet.

  4. November 8, 2013 at 9:50 am

    That child can be found again even if he is lost. I lost my inner child too but I am on the road to discovering that little girl who was full of life.


Leave a comment


Blog Stats

  • 12,149 hits
August 2013
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 617 other subscribers